What I’m Reading Wednesday

I read a lot of Wikipedia pages in the past week. I know, that’s not something you need to read about. I just like how you can get lost on there for a while linking from one page to another. It’s almost the way my brain works sometimes, jumping from topic to topic. Anyway, on a more interesting note, I learned about a new fruit called a Plapple. It’s a plum-apple. It looks like and has a skin like an apple, but on the inside, it’s all plum-like: reddish-purple and juicy. Sort of sweet-tart tasting. They were brought into work by the produce guy. So random.

Another highlight of my week was learning how to make coffee without a coffee maker. And I learned that having proper coffee filters are truly useful. What I did was steep coffee (about 2 Tbsp.) in about 1-1/3 cup (because that’s what my recipe called for) hot water (I used water from my tea kettle) for about three minutes, and then stirred, and then steeped about three minutes more and then STRAINED. Since I did not have any coffee filters on hand, I used a mini strainer and strained about 5 or 6 times until I saw no more coffee grinds left. A lot of effort, but it works. Next time, definitely buying coffee filters.

As far as reading goes, I actually have not done much of it this past week since it’s been nice out and have spent time doing other things. Some other highlights from this week include:

  1. Hearing the symphony live for free. It was playing in Dolores park in celebration of 100 years.
  2. Watching Brave and Moonlight Kingdom back-to-back. (both good)
  3. Contra dancing. It’s like a cross between swing and square dancing done in a line. Fun but tiring and dizzying the first time.
  4. Meeting my boyfriend’s parents and sister and brother-in-law for the first time.

It has been a fun week. I will try to post more about the above mentioned items. I will definitely be posting pictures of them in my Photo Friday! post this week, so look out for that! Hope your week is going well so far!

What's your opinion?

