NaBloPoMo: 3

This is post number 3 of the NaBloPoMo. Today, I am going to write based on the prompt given on their website: “Which author made you want to be a writer (or blogger)?” I was inspired to blog because of many other dessert/food blog(ger)s out there. The first blog I read was Dessert First, and then started reading many others including Bakerella, The Girl Who Ate Everything, Use Real Butter, and many, many more. (These and others listed on the right-hand column) I am also inspired by food writers including the former editor of Gourmet magazine, Ruth Reichl, who is the author of many books including Garlic and Sapphires, which is about her life as a food critic in disguise. I really like reading about food and travel and someone’s adventures in both aspects, so I decided I could write about my “dessert adventures”. Whether it was baking at home, baking at work, eating dessert at a restaurant or somewhere else, I would write about it. If people found my recipes and found my blog interesting, that is great. (If you are one of them, and reading this now, please leave a comment!) If it was just for me to document the recipes I’ve tried and desserts I’ve eaten to re-read what I’ve wrote and see what I’ve accomplished, then that’s fine and that’s all it needs to be. It turns out that starting this blog lead to many other things. It lead to being a Featured Publisher on Foodbuzz, which lead to events such as the convention in November, and an interview with a chef, and The Daring Bakers, and many other contributions to the food writing world. Also, I am happy to be a part of a very large and friendly (food) blogging community both online and in person. I have been able to meet other bloggers that share my passion for both baking and writing and it is a special group of people that I have come to love. I am happy I started this blog even though I do not update it as often as I would like and hopefully that will change after completing this challenge.

What's your opinion?

