Homemade “Funfetti” Cake

For those of you who don’t know what Funfetti is: http://www.pillsburybaking.com/products/ProductDetail.aspx?catID=297&prodID=701

Since I needed a good way to use up the sprinkles that were given to me after the  holiday cookie party my friend had about a week ago, I decided to make a Funfetti cake. I used a basic yellow cake/vanilla cake recipe and added the sprinkles typically found in the cake batter-the “crunchy” bigger ones…if you do know Funfetti cakes…you know what I’m talking about…if you don’t know…go to your local grocery store and pick up a box. Now, I would not normally say that Pillsbury makes good products, or that you should make cake from a box, but I see it as the Kraft Mac ‘n Cheese of cake. (Not that I would advise to buy/eat that either) but my point is that it is a cake that I grew up knowing from attending various birthday parties. It’s all about the nostalgia for this overly sugared cake.

Anyway, I made the frosting from scratch as well, and used blue (smaller, sugary) sprinkles to help “dye” it green because it is the holidays after all. Then I frosted and added the final layer of sprinkles. Like I said before, a sugary cake (typically made for kids).

The recipes came from the book, The Sweet Life. I used water instead of milk, because (surprise!) I didn’t have any on hand and of course, added the sprinkles. Oh, and I did not brown the butter, but used it “as is”. i also only did half the recipe, since I only made one cake.

Cake Ingredients:

1 vanilla bean or 1 tsp. vanilla extract

24 Tbsp. (12 ounces) butter

1-2/3 cups sugar

2 whole eggs, at room temperature

4 egg yolks, at room temperature

2-1/2 cups PLUS 2 Tbsp. flour

3 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1-1/4 cup milk, at room temperature

Frosting Ingredients:

3 egg yolks

1/2 cup PLUS 2 Tbsp. sugar

16 Tbsp. (8 ounces) butter

Cake Directions:

Optional: brown butter and infuse vanilla bean; solidify and then use like regular butter

  1. Cream butter and sugar together
  2. Add vanilla (if not already added from browning butter)
  3. Add eggs and yolks; scrape bowl as needed.
  4. Add drys. Mix until combined.
  5. Add liquid. Mix until incorporated.

For funfetti: add sprinkles!

Bake at 350ºF for 40-45 minutes, or 30 minutes for cupcakes; in a greased pan.

Yields: Two 9-inch cakes or 16 cupcakes

Frosting Instructions:

Whip yolks and sugar together over a double boiler until thick and warm; place on mixer and whip until very light in color. Slowly add butter and flavoring (vanilla extract, orange zest, etc.) and, if desired, add sprinkles or dye to change the color.

Frost cooled cake and add (even more) sprinkles!

Let the kid in you enjoy this cake and fall into a great sugar-coma.

What's your opinion?

