cinnamon buns

I am starting to work on using up my leftovers. This week I used some of the vanilla instant pudding mix for the dough for these cinnamon buns.

I can’t remember where I got the recipe from, but it makes a lot of really good dough. It is a super easy recipe, but it is a little bit sticky. But why make cinnamon buns if you don’t want to get a little bit sticky?

1/4 cup vanilla instant pudding

1 cup milk

1/4 cup warm water

1 pkg. yeast

1 TBS sugar

1/4 cup melted butter

1 egg

1/2 tsp. salt

3 to 3-1/4 cups flour

Mix the vanilla pudding with one cup milk.

Make dough by activating yeast into warm water, stir in sugar, pudding, butter, egg, and salt. Add flour one cup at a time until dough is developed and knead for 10 minutes. Let dough rise in a warm place covered with a little oil and a wet cloth. Punch down after it has doubled in size and let rise again. (I am not sure exactly how long it should rest/rise because I was making dinner in the meantime, but I am sure 20-30 minutes total should be about right.)

Roll out dough until it is 19″x 21″. Spread 1/2 cup of softened butter over dough and sprinkle brown sugar mixture (1 cup brown sugar and 2 tsp. cinnamon {and any other nuts or things you might want in your buns}) over the top of the butter. (I did this, and all of the sugar melted out of the dough.

So, I think the best thing to do would be to cream all of the butter and sugar together -make sure butter is really soft-and spread that mixture onto the dough, then sprinkle on nuts or anything else you might add to the buns…I might add mini chocolate chips to mine next time!)

Roll into a jellyroll (lengthwise) and cut into 2-inch pieces and place 2 inches apart on a greased baking sheet (or an ungreased, non-stick sheet. I definitely recommend using a jellyroll pan-a cookie sheet with edges-for this so you don’t have to worry about sugar dripping to the bottom of your oven.) I might use a regular (large-size) muffin tin to bake them in next time so they keep their shape a little bit better. If I do that, I’ll let you know how it goes (of course!).

Let rise. (Again, I am not sure how long.) Bake at 350º for 15-20 minutes.

Can be frozen and warmed, covered, in a 325º oven for 20-30 minutes.

Frosting: note: this is totally optional, and I don’t like cream cheese frosting, so I just made a plain vanilla frosting…and only put it on half of them…

2 Tbs. butter

2 ounces cream cheese

1/4 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. milk

3/4 cup powdered sugar

Cream together all ingredients except the sugar. Add sugar a little bit at a time, scrape down bowl as necessary. Mix until smooth. Spread on cool buns.

What's your opinion?

