And that has made all the difference.

That is the last line of one of my favorite poems. I took this prompt from the February NaBloPoMo: “ Look up a favorite poem, then take the last line and use it as the first line of today’s post.” This is the last sentence of the poem, which will give the title of the poem away:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

If you haven’t guessed it by now, it is Robert Frost’s The Road Not Taken.

I like the poem because it shows that you have to make choices in life and sometimes the choice involves one path that everyone takes and one path that is, well, less traveled. For example, there’s the graduate high school-go to college-get a job, typical path. There’s also the graduate from high school-take a year off-go to college-get a job path. There are also several other variations of these paths that others have taken. I think that it depends on a lot of things which of those paths you take and which is right for you. There are some people who follow the first, and probably most traveled path because of how they grew up. It’s the thing to do. It’s the right thing. I took that path. I sometimes think about what life would be like if I took the latter and taken that “leap year”. What would I have done? Would I have done the “typical” travel through Europe thing? Where would I be today? What would I be doing? Would my life be (mostly) the same? Of course, no one could answer those questions, but it is fun to think about. I do think that I would not have met the same people I met because of moving to San Francisco when I did. I would not have had the same first apartment and I would not have had the same first job. It would’ve been different if I chose the “road not taken”. That last line of the poem could never be truer.

Was there a typical path that you took? Or was there a “road less traveled by” that you did take? What were the results?

By the way, here’s the full poem:

The Road Not Taken; by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

2 thoughts on “And that has made all the difference.

  1. I went from high school to university, took 2 years off to work and travel and then went back again for a second degree. Looking back, I’m happy with the choices that I made. But sometimes I wish that I’d tried out some more hands-on work and study, instead of sticking to academia.

  2. Pingback: What I’m Reading Wednesday « Having My Cake And Sharing It 2

What's your opinion?

