Peanut Butter Cookies

I wanted to use up the peanut butter and peanuts that were leftover from the brittle, so I made peanut butter cookies with peanuts in them. They are tasty, and it was my first time I adapted a recipe on my own, so they are a little too sugary for my taste. I got the recipe from A Field Guide to Cookies, written by Anita Chu. It is a very basic peanut butter cookie recipe, but right at the top of the page it read, “do not use natural peanut butter, because it separates” so I thought, well, that’s what I’ve got, so I have to make it work. I thought that it must separate because of the fat content. So I did not use butter in the recipe. I was going to replace the butter with peanut butter, but I didn’t have enough, so I just added oil. I think they turned out okay. I will post the original recipe on here, since the recipe that I ended up with is not perfect. I still have some peanuts left, so the next post might also feature them; sorry in advance for so many peanut posts, but I think this blog needs a little more balance of flavors, since most of the recipes on here are chocolate-y.

Peanut butter cookies


1-1/4 cups flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg

1 cup peanut butter

1/2 tsp. vanilla

Preheat oven to 375ยบ. Sift together dry ingredients; set aside. Cream together butter and peanut butter and sugars. Add in egg and vanilla; mix until combined. Stir in flour. Scoops about 24-26 cookies. Place cookies on lightly greased baking sheets. Bake for 15-18 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies

What's your opinion?

